ART TOY DESIGN WK1: Blank Modification

Starting with Sketches

Reference

VeryMissRabbit from Taiwan
Alba, the mutant rabbit
Robot Rabbit by NIKITA KORENKOV NikKor

Character Design / Turnarounds

Radio Bunny is a cyborg mutant bunny which is radioactive. He’s always angry

Woodworking

Prototype, trying to put 3 wooden pegs together
putting pilot hole
Drilling hole for the eye
drawing a straight line without a lathe
Chopping off part of the peg to get a shorter body
Sanding down for smoother edges
looks like a rabbit to me

But something went wrong, did the body + nose part over

Paint job

first time been to a local art supply store,

I’m glad that I went there for art supplies. They categorize products into “Best Value”, “Artist “, “Professional”, the prices goes up as you want more professional items. Basically I can make purchase based on my actual need and expectation. Turned out I found everything I want there with a reasonable price.

, “”1/4.49, second item 50% off
4.99 dollar for a set of paint brushes
I decided not to apply primer
Ended up with 3-4 coats of neon green acrylic paint
Masking tape for paint the end of the ear
Used sharpie for sharp outlines
Feel like something’s missing, maybe a carrot (credit to Tina and Hyunseo)?
Sacrificing a paint brush for a carrot
bye brand new paint brush

Glamor Shots

Conclusion

The final form and look of the toy high depends on the precision and the level of craftsmanship that I can execute with. In the context of toy making or resembling a character, it requires fine measuring and woodworking, as anything which looks unpolished will ruin the character’s image. What I’ve done bad is the angles of connecting the wooden pegs, which makes the rabbit looks even more angry. The fatal error would be a crack on the nose, as I probably used too big of a drill bit for the hole, while cracks the surface of the wooden peg brutally. Furthermore, without power tools like a table saw and a belt sander, it is hard to perform precise cutting and sanding with barehands.

Leave a comment